Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE in /home/toutestq/www/uptq/wp-content/themes/fox_tq/header.php on line 165

The spin, a quantum magnet

Not only is the electron both a particle and a quantum wave, but it also carries a kind of mini magnet called spin.

Like all the other quantum properties, the spin can only assume certain specific values, like a compass that could only point in certain directions! The spin is at the roots of magnetism and also helps us to understand the chemical bonds between atoms of matter. The spin is also used for hard disk drives and medical imaging.

go to another subject

In laboratory : Spintronics : the future of electronics ?

Electronics is currently based on the handling of electrical charges. Physicists have recently found a way to manipulate the spin of electrons : it is the birth of spintronics. From giant-magnetoresistance read-heads to new electronic components, spintronics might revolutionize our computers. Scientists have been developing it, where experiments mix quantum mechanics, nanosciences, and magnetism.

Practical application : Quantum magnets

We can find magnets on our fridges, in our speakers, our headphones, and our hard disks. We have been able to understand how they work thanks to quantum physics. The spins of electrons line up to create a South pole and a North pole. We now know how to manipulate these spins and make ultra-miniaturized magnets to produce higher-performance magnetic memory.

Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE in /home/toutestq/www/uptq/wp-content/themes/fox_tq/header.php on line 165

Le spin, aimant quantique

Non seulement l’électron est à la fois un corps et une onde quantique, mais en plus, il porte une sorte de mini-aimant appelé spin.

Ce spin, comme toute propriété quantique, ne peut prendre que certaines valeurs, comme une boussole qui n’aurait droit qu’à certaines directions ! À l’origine du magnétisme, le spin permet aussi de comprendre les liaisons chimiques entre atomes dans la matière. Il est aussi dans les disques durs des ordinateurs ou en imagerie médicale.

voir un autre sujet

En laboratoire : La spintronique, électronique du futur ?

L’électronique repose actuellement sur la manipulation des charges électriques. Depuis peu, les physiciens parviennent aussi à manipuler le spin des électrons : la spintronique est née. Des têtes de lectures à magnétorésistance géante jusqu’à de nouveaux composants électroniques, elle pourrait révolutionner nos ordinateurs. Elle est développée dans des laboratoires où les expériences mêlent quantique, nanosciences et magnétisme.

Application : Les aimants sont quantiques

Les aimants sont sur nos frigos, dans nos haut-parleurs, nos casques audio, ou dans les disques durs de nos ordinateurs. C’est la quantique qui a permis de comprendre leur fonctionnement. Dans les aimants, ce sont les spins des électrons qui s’alignent tous entre eux et créent le pôle nord et le pôle sud. On sait maintenant manipuler ces spins et fabriquer ainsi des aimants ultra-miniaturisés pour des mémoires magnétiques plus performantes.